RSS

The Devil and Me

24 Sep

The devil came to me last night

Offered a future long and bright

A lottery win, a pot of gold

If to him my soul was sold

I listened to him for a while

Seeing behind his cunning smile

Fame and fortune he would give

A long and happy life to live

The only price I had to pay

Was to give my soul away

My soul he wants for his own sake

He could only receive he could not take

I stood and looked him in the eye

Beneath a stunning moonlight sky

You cannot have my soul today

It is not mine to give away

 
5 Comments

Posted by on September 24, 2011 in Poetry

 

5 responses to “The Devil and Me

  1. wordcoaster

    October 4, 2011 at 7:19 am

    Ha! A true “Get behind me Satan!”–well done!

    Like

     
  2. Life: Between the lines

    October 13, 2011 at 1:50 am

    he sure can pull us, tempt us, one has to be strong to fight against him and call on the strongest one for help 🙂

    Like

     
  3. The Gooseberry Garden of Jingle Poetry

    December 7, 2011 at 3:43 am

    reflective, smiles.

    How is your day?

    Time flies, appreciated your handsome inputs to our poetry picnic.

    Share a poem today.
    Bless you.
    Happy December,
    Enjoy A Wonderful Wednesday Ahead.

    xoxox

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
