RSS

You’re Gone

02 Aug

I look for you sitting in your favourite chair

But each time I look you are not there

I listen to hear your voice on the phone

The silence is loud, I feel so alone

You left so quickly without saying goodbye

I felt so helpless I screamed at the sky

I see your hat that you wore with such pride

I feel the pain still hurting inside

It’s been almost two years since you’ve been gone

Laughter and memories still linger on

Searching and longing for loving times shared

It’s hard to believe you’re no longer there

 
14 Comments

Posted by on August 2, 2011 in Poetry

 

14 responses to “You’re Gone

  1. tigerbrite

    August 2, 2011 at 12:51 pm

    Beautifully done. The emptyness of bereavement.

    Like

     
  2. charlesmashburn

    August 2, 2011 at 4:38 pm

    A sad and loving tribute to that missing loved one. Nicely done!

    Like

     
    • Jeanie McBain

      August 2, 2011 at 5:06 pm

      Thank you Charles for your kind comment, it’s for my dad I miss him very much

      Like

       
  3. Jingle

    August 2, 2011 at 5:27 pm

    haunting yet beautiful sentiments,

    glad to see you in.

    Happy Potluck!

    Like

     
    • Jeanie McBain

      August 2, 2011 at 6:19 pm

      Thank you Jingle, glad I made it back in time 🙂

      Like

       
  4. luna15

    August 2, 2011 at 7:19 pm

    sad and lovely my heart goes out to you

    Like

     
    • Jeanie McBain

      August 2, 2011 at 7:22 pm

      Thank you luna, your comment is greatly appreciated 🙂

      Like

       
  5. Donna Swanson

    August 2, 2011 at 8:08 pm

    There are times when our tears flow onto a page and we connect with others in a very real way. Thank you for sharing. The grief DOES pass. And I”m glad I found your blog!

    Like

     
    • Jeanie McBain

      August 2, 2011 at 8:23 pm

      Yes that is so very true Donna, it’s nice to see you I am glad you got here ok 🙂

      Like

       
  6. eugenicist

    August 3, 2011 at 4:08 am

    Lovely piece…am sure lots of us have felt this way some time or the other in our lives

    Like

     
  7. becca givens

    August 3, 2011 at 4:32 am

    jeanie – this resonates with me … I am still grieving the loss of my dad as well … I miss him terribly ~~ thank you for sharing! 🙂

    Like

     
    • Jeanie McBain

      August 3, 2011 at 8:46 am

      Hi Becca, this one sort of flooded out, I have just got back from visiting my mum and this was the result. Thank you for your comment.

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
