RSS

A message from Max

21 Jun

My Dad had a black and white cat called Max and he adored him.  A few years ago my Dad was taken into hospital with a chest infection, he was very worried about his cat. I wrote this little poem and took it along with a stuffed black toy cat to keep my Dad company.  He adored this poem and had it laminated and put on the wall next to his chair.  The poem is written in Scottish so if you have problems with it just ask me.

Max

Hello there Dad, it’s me yer pal

I know ye are away

Yer at the vet’s tae make ye well

But ah miss ye everyday

 

A hope they clean yer cage awright

And feed ye really good

and change your litter twice a day

And if they don’t they should

 

Noo, am no wan fer telling tales

But this ah hafty say

Gran’s been sittin on yer chair

She does it every day

 

Ye ken that I get itchy nails

And that I canny hack it

It’s then that I just can’t resist

Scatching on yer carpet

 

Ah miss ye Dad so come hame soon

When yer feelin’ well

‘Cause am stretched oot along yer bed

Am there all by masel.

 

Luv from

Max

There ye go signed.

 

©Jeanie McBain 2005

 

 
13 Comments

Posted by on June 21, 2011 in Poetry

 

Tags: , ,

13 responses to “A message from Max

  1. tinkerbel1987

    June 22, 2011 at 2:22 pm

    I love this sooo much 🙂 makes me miss my cats wen I’m at uni

    Like

     
    • Jeanie McBain

      June 22, 2011 at 2:44 pm

      Glad you like the poem. It’s just what I thought Max would say when my Dad went into hospital lol 🙂

      Like

       
  2. Ina

    June 22, 2011 at 2:39 pm

    Love this 🙂 It is a song !

    Like

     
    • Jeanie McBain

      June 22, 2011 at 2:43 pm

      🙂 Thank you I am glad you liked it. I never thought of it as a song…. now I need to think of a tune .

      Like

       
  3. magher1

    June 22, 2011 at 6:56 pm

    So cute! I also used to have a black and white cat. Miss him so much! ;(

    Like

     
    • Jeanie McBain

      June 22, 2011 at 6:58 pm

      Thank you I enjoyed writing it. It’s a little bit of fun 🙂
      Thank you for visiting my blog

      Like

       
  4. Jingle

    June 23, 2011 at 3:07 am

    you make us smile.
    beautiful flow..

    happy rally:)

    Like

     
    • Jeanie McBain

      June 23, 2011 at 8:28 am

      Thank you Jingle, I am glad it made you smile. 😛

      Like

       
  5. Cindy Eksuzian

    June 23, 2011 at 5:48 am

    Adorable and sweet. I loved the nuance of language! Cindy

    Like

     
    • Jeanie McBain

      June 23, 2011 at 8:27 am

      Thank you Cindy I am glad you ,liked it. 🙂 Thank you for dropping by

      Like

       
  6. C Rose

    June 23, 2011 at 11:39 am

    This is such a sweet piece and I can understand why it brought your dad so much joy! Great write ~ Rose

    Like

     
    • Jeanie McBain

      June 23, 2011 at 12:48 pm

      Thank you for your kind comments and for dropping by,

      Like

       
  7. mindlovemisery

    June 24, 2011 at 7:59 am

    Awww this is so sweet I really miss having cats there so charming

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
